Hancock-Wood Electric Cooperative Announces Scholarship and Youth Tour Winners

Hancock-Wood Electric Announces Scholarship and Youth Tour Winners

Hancock-Wood Electric Cooperative announces the 2023 Children of Members Scholarship recipients. Applications are screened by the Scholarship Committee for academic achievement including GPA, ACT/SAT test scores and the variety and quality of extracurricular and community activities.

  • 1st place winner Katherine Oestreich, Eastwood High School, daughter of Matt and Leslie Oestreich
  • 2nd place winner Jada Todd, Liberty-Benton High School, daughter of Jeff and Julie Todd
  • 3rd place winner Claire Kreischer, Ottawa-Glandorf High School, daughter of Tara and Tom Hilty
  • 4th place winner Rylar Essinger, Arlington High School, son of Brian and Stacy Essinger
  • 5th place winner Brandon Maag, Liberty-Benton High School, son of Albert and Mary Maag
  • 6th place winner Andrew Baden, Patrick Henry High School, son of Steve and Tricia Baden
  • 7th place winner Edison Eschedor, Bowling Green High School, son of Scott and Bethany Eschedor


Each summer, Hancock-Wood Electric Cooperative sponsors two students on an annual Youth Tour to Washington, D.C. The selected winners will receive a $500 scholarship in addition to the trip. Students can learn about our nation’s capital, the government, and rural electric cooperatives while seeing the historic and cultural sights of the Washington, D.C. area. The Youth Tour program is an annual opportunity for more than 1,500 high school students from across the nation to represent their electric co-ops at our nation’s capital. Hancock-Wood is proud to announce our two Youth Tour recipients:

Andrew Sowders and Dominick Hudson

scholarship winners
Top row from left: Trustees Bill Kale, Gene Barker, Tom Kagy, Duane Fry, Lee Anne Dierksheide, Ed Crawford, Tim Phillips, Brian Terry, Charlie Beagle and President and CEO Bill Barnhart. Bottom row from left: Jada Todd, Claire Kreischer, Brandon Maag, Andrew Baden, Edison Eschedor,  Andrew Sowders, and Dominick Hudson. Award winners not pictured: Katherine Oestreich and Rylar Essinger.